This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy.

Draw for Pan-American qualification tournament, IHF will grant a wild card for Germany 2017

With the draw for the 23rd IHF Women’s World Handball Championship at Hamburg on 27 June drawing closer, the final 13 spots for Germany will be confirmed in the next weeks. Nine spots will be determined in the European Play-offs between 9 June and 15 June, while the three Pan-American spots will be decided in the continental championship from 18 to 25 June.

The Gimnasio Sociedad Alemana in the Argentine capital Buenos Aires will be the venue for the event, for which the preliminary round groups just had been drawn. In group A defending Pan-American champions and 2013 World Champions Brazil will face Puerto Rico, Paraguay, USA and Colombia, host Argentina will lock horns with Uruguay, Chile, Guatemala and Dominican Republic in group B. The two each best ranked teams qualify for the semi-finals, the three medallists book their tickets for Germany 2017, which will be held from 1 to 17 December in six cities all over Germany.

Before the Pan-American championships, those duels will confirm nine more European participants: Montenegro vs Belarus, Italy vs Serbia, Russia vs Poland, Hungary vs Slovakia, Romania vs Austria, Ukraine vs Spain, Croatia vs Slovenia, Czech Republic vs Turkey, FYR Macedonia vs Sweden.

Therefore, definitely 14 European teams will be part of the World Championship after Norway (defending champions), Germany (hosts), Netherlands, France and Denmark (via the EHF EURO 2016) have already clinched their berth for Germany.

As the each three participants from Asia (Korea, Japan, China) and Africa (Angola, Tunisia, Cameroon) are already confirmed the 24th spot for Germany will be granted by an IHF wildcard - like for the previous (2015 and 2017) Men’s and Women’s World Championships before.

The preliminary round groups will be carried out in Leipzig (with Germany and Netherlands), Oldenburg (with Denmark), Bietigheim-Bissingen (with Norway) and Trier (with France). The eighth-finals and quarter-finals and the President’s Cup are staged in Leipzig and Magdeburg, the venue for the Final Weekend is the Barclaycard-Arena in Hamburg.